Price Law Firm, P.A.
Call for a Free Consultation…
864-271-3535
  • AV- Peer Review Rated
  • South Carolina Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • South Carolina Bar
  • Super Lawyers
  • Country Bar Association
  • NACDL- National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers

Possession of more than an ounce of marijuana in SC can cost you

South Carolina takes drug offenses very seriously. In fact, even marijuana, which is quickly being legalized around the country, carries stiff penalties. More people than ever are questioning the prohibition of marijuana, seeing it as comparable to alcohol. Public opinion won't matter to law enforcement or the courts if you're caught with marijuana, especially if you have more than an ounce in your possession.

Depending on the circumstances, you could face either misdemeanor possession charges or felony sale and trafficking charges. It is possible to get charged with trafficking even if you never had the intention to sell marijuana to anyone. In South Carolina, the amount of marijuana you possessed can and will be used as the basis for criminal charges against you. The more you had, the worse the potential charges.

South Carolina has has penalties for marijuana possession

At first glance, the penalties for marijuana possession in South Carolina seem straightforward. First time offenders caught with an ounce or less face 30 days in jail and a fine of $200. Subsequent offenses by the same person with less than an ounce carry a year in jail and a fine of $2,000. While that's no mere slap on the wrist, it's not as harsh as penalties in some states. However, it's critical to note that any amount over one ounce will likely leave you to face felony sale or trafficking charges, even if the marijuana was just for personal use. Even a single ounce could result in trafficking charges.

The humidity in South Carolina can affect the weight of a container of marijuana. The plant is typically sold in a dried and cured state. Exposure to humid air, however, could increase the overall weight of the marijuana in your possession. It may have been just under an ounce when you bought it, but all that matters is the weight when law enforcement weigh it in as evidence. If you're even a single gram over, you could be facing felony charges that carry five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

You shouldn't risk your future and your freedom. If you've been arrested for possession, you should call an experienced South Carolina criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.

An attorney can help you fight marijuana charges

A public defense attorney will probably be overworked and may not have any relevant experience with marijuana possession or trafficking charges. That's why working with an experienced criminal defense attorney, especially one who has experience with federal charges, can improve your chance for a positive outcome regardless of whether you're facing state or federal charges.

A drug conviction could impact your ability to find a job, get student aid for college or even find housing. Don't plead guilty or go to court without the help and advocacy of an experienced criminal defense lawyer.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Arrange Your Free Consultation With Our Team

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Contact Information

Price Law Firm, P.A.
644 East Washington Street
Greenville, SC 29601

Phone: 864-501-9627
Fax: 864-242-6560
Greenville Law Office Map

Map